Our Rights Are Heading to the “Kill Committee”

What is your emotional response to the phrase “kill committee”?  If you find it a little disturbing, just wait because it gets worse.  It’s the unofficial name for the State, Veterans, & Military Affairs Committees of both our State House and Senate – and these committees are reviewing no fewer than six bills designed to protect or restore our Second Amendment rights.

Read: best spin bikes review!

A cursory internet search on that phrase and “Colorado” turns up multiple articles and quotes affirming the fact that the State, Veterans, & Military Affairs Committee is where bills are sent to be killed rather than to be moved on to the House or Senate floor.  It’s a deliberate dead-end for laws that are unpopular with the majority party of the time and has been used as a legislative abattoir by both parties over the years.  It’s “a long held practice” and “a long-standing tradition.”  It’s accepted as a fact of life by our legislators.

We’d like to suggest a few more ways to describe the practice.  It’s disgusting.  It’s a travesty.  It’s an inside joke among political players in which our rights and personal liberties are pawns and punch lines.  It makes a mockery of the very political system that is supposed to make us a nation of laws.

It is unacceptable.

The bills listed below include several that would outlaw parts or all of the 2013 gun laws forced upon us by agenda-based, out of state interests.  The passage of those laws was so onerous that it resulted in Colorado’s first recalls of sitting state legislators by a citizenry insulted and ignored by its elected government.  These may very well be some of the most important bills that we are going to see pass through our Legislature this year.  Yet the bills were sent to their respective “kill committee,” in what could easily be viewed as another sign of contempt for the voting public of Colorado.

Here are the bills and the legislators on each of the committees, both House and Senate.  Contact them today, tomorrow and every day until the voting is done and the bills get their fair hearings on the floor.  Call them, write them, email them, schedule a constituent meeting if you can be in Denver.  Make sure they understand the seriousness of the situation and that we, as citizens, are done with fixed games and inside jokes.

The “kill committee”, in both concept and practice, needs to meet its own end.  And, if need be, take the careers of its defenders with it.

=======

 

House Bills Assigned to State, Veterans, & Military Affairs

 

HB 14-1063 – “Deadly Force Against Intruders At Businesses”

 

HB 14-1151 – “Repeal Ammunition Magazine Prohibition”*

Senate Bills Assigned to State, Veterans, & Military Affairs

SB 14-038 – “Governor Cannot Restrict Firearms During Emergency”

SB 14-090 – “No Background Check For Step-relations”

SB 14-094 – “Background Checks And Fees For Gun Transfers” (repeals the mandate for personal sales, citizen-to-citizen)

SB 14-100 – “Repeal Large-capacity Ammunition Magazine Ban”

=======

Members of the House State, Veterans, & Military Affairs Committee

Su Ryden, Chair – (303) 866-2942
su.ryden.house@state.co.us

Joseph Salazar, Vice-Chair – (303) 866-2918
joseph.salazar.house@state.co.us

Kathleen Conti – (303) 866-2953
kathleen.conti.house@state.co.us

Timothy Dore – (303) 866-2398
tim.dore.house@state.co.us

Mike Foote – (303) 866-2920
mike.foote.house@state.co.us

Stephen Humphrey (303) 866-2943
rephumphrey48@yahoo.com

Jeanne Labuda – (303) 866-2966
jeanne.labuda.house@state.co.us

Jovan Melton – (303) 866-2919
jovan.melton.house@state.co.us

Dominick Moreno – (303) 866-2964
dominick.moreno.house@state.co.us

Dan Nordberg – (303) 866-2965
dan.nordberg.house@state.co.us

Angela Williams – (303) 866-2909
angela.williams.house@state.co.us

Members of the Senate State, Veterans, & Military Affairs Committee

Jessie Ulibarri, Chair – (303) 866-4857
jessie.ulibarri.senate@state.co.us

Matt Jones, Vice-Chair – (303) 866-5291
senatormattjones@gmail.com

Irene Aguilar – (303) 866-4852
irene.aguilar.senate@state.co.us

Ted Harvey – (303) 866-4881
ted.harvey.senate@state.co.us

Bernie Herpin – (303) 866-6364
bernie.herpin.senate@state.co.us

=======

*When the magazine ban was originally passed as HB 13-1224, it went to the Judiciary committee.  It is unknown why this bill, dealing with the same subject matter, was sent along a different path

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *